Brussels Philharmonic Orchestra

  • Saturday 11 November
Ticket typeCost
Tickets from£5.60

Stéphane Denève conductor

Nikolaj Znaider violin

To commemorate the hundredth anniversary of the Battle of Passchendaele, the last major battle of the First World War, one of Britain’s finest composers Mark-Anthony Turnage composed the much anticipated work that opens this concert. Nikolaj Znaider then joins Stéphane Denève and the Brussels Philharmonic in Bruch’s perennially popular, melody-rich First Violin Concerto.

The second half features two of the greatest twentieth-century ballet scores. Among its countless attractive features, Prokofiev’s depiction of the seconds before midnight in his Cinderella is surely the greatest countdown ever represented in music. Ravel’s sensuous Daphnis et Chloé is equally a masterpiece. It culminates in a breathless bacchanal of great power and rhythmic drive.


Tickets for the Brussels Philharmonic (subject to booking fees) at Sheffield City Hall are available online at through the ticket hotline on 0114 2 789 789 and in person at the Sheffield City Hall Box Office.


  • Mark-Anthony Turnage: Passchendaele
  • Bruch: Violin Concerto No.1
  • Prokofiev: Cinderella: Suite
  • Ravel: Daphnis et Chloé: Suite No.2

…or show events that are:

…or filter by group type: