Royal Northern Sinfonia

  • Thursday 12 October
    7.00 – 9.00pm
Ticket typeCost
Tickets from£5.60

Bringing the UK's Top Orchestras to Sheffield City Hall

Paul McCreesh conducts the Royal Northern Sinfonia in Mozart’s ballet score Idomeneo. Mozart isn’t usually associated with ballet, yet here is some of the greatest dance music ever written. The refinement and lyricism so abundant in Mozart’s music is matched in his friend Haydn’s First Cello Concerto. The soloist in this lovely work is Guy Johnston, one of the most exciting and versatile British cellists of his generation.

Mendelssohn’s highly ambient ‘Scottish’ Symphony, another musical homage to Caledonia, evokes misty glens, magnificent mountains and Scotland’s distinctive folk music. 

Tickets for Royal Northern Sinfonia at Sheffield City Hall are available online at through the ticket hotline on 0114 2 789 789 and in person at the Sheffield City Hall Box Office.


  • Mozart: Idomeneo: Ballet Music
  • Haydn: Cello Concerto No.1
  • Mendelssohn: Symphony No.3 ‘Scottish'

…or show events that are:

…or filter by group type: