arrow-leftarrow-rightauthorBeyond Borderscalendarcrosspath126Music-fermatarepeat-lfacebookfilterFuture Makersgallerymenuhomemagnifymailmap-pinnotepeoplequote-marktickettwitterWomen in Music

Autumn Leaves

Elizabeth Charlesworth, Naomi Jahoda & John Bashforth
Group type: Soloists
  • Sunday 7 October
    4.00 – 5.30pm
Ticket typeCost

Arias, Songs and Duets for the falling of the year

Naomi and Elizabeth have been singing together for a couple of years, collaborating on Pergolesi’s Stabat Mater, which they performed with John Bashforth at St John’s Cudworth and St Marie’s in Sheffield.

This programme is a mixture of solos and duets, with a couple of organ solos from John. Mendelssohn’s part songs are widely performed by choirs and soloists and provide melodic interest for both voices. His oratorios, especially Elijah, are very different in character; ‘Hear Ye, Israel’ is a dramatic scene, opening the second half of the oratorio, in which the Israelites are called to their god.

This varied programme also offers a ground bass by Purcell, The Evening Hymn, and other duets including the delightful ‘O Lovely Peace’ from Handel’s Judas Maccabaeus.


Elizabeth Charlesworth (soprano), Naomi Jahoda (contralto) and John Bashforth (organ)


  • Mendelssohn: Gruss Oh wert thou in the cauld cauld blast. Herbstlied Abendlied Hear Ye, Israel (Elijah)
  • Handel: O Lovely Peace (Judas Maccabaeus) In Gentle Murmurs
  • Purcell: Evening Hymn
  • Pergolesi: Eia Mater (Stabat Mater)
  • Humperdinck: Evening Prayer (Hansel and Gretel)
  • Franck: Panis angelicus
  • Vivaldi: Dominey Deus (Gloria)
  • Stradella: Pieta Signore

This event is:

Short & Sweet Free Popular Classics Up Close & Personal

…or show events that are:

…or filter by group type: