arrow-leftarrow-rightauthorBeyond Borderscalendarcrosspath126Music-fermatarepeat-lfacebookfilterFuture Makersgallerymenuhomemagnifymailmap-pinnotepeoplequote-marktickettwitterWomen in Music

in:spire with...

Naomi Atherton & Annabelle Lawson
Group type: Soloists
  • Friday 30 November
    7.00 – 8.00pm
Ticket typeCost
Suggested donation (cash only)£7

in:spire with is delighted to welcome Ensemble 360's Naomi Atherton (French Horn), in an hour-long recital with Annabelle Lawson (piano)

in:spire with is delighted to host an hour's music-making with Ensemble 360's star French Horn player, Naomi Atherton, in recital with pianist Annabelle Lawson.

Naomi Atherton fearlessly facing the demands of the fiendish music and conquering it with full-bodied, steady tone"
Sheffield Telegraph

Born in Bradford, West Yorkshire, Naomi took up the horn at the age of eight. She went on to study at the Royal Northern College of Music with Michael Purton and Derek Taylor. Whilst in her first year at college she won the brass final of BBC Young Musician of the Year.

Highlights of her solo career have been with the BBC Philharmonic and the Ulster Orchestras, performances of Britten’s Serenade for Tenor, Horn and Strings with Robert Tear and Neil Mackie, and most recently with James Gilchrist and the Manchester Camerata. This performance was broadcast on BBC Radio 3 under the baton of Douglas Boyd.

Naomi has been principal horn of Manchester Camerata and Northern Chamber Orchestra for many years, but has also appeared as guest principal with such orchestras as the Goldberg Ensemble, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, English Northern Philharmonia, Northern Sinfonia and Scottish Chamber Orchestra. She has appeared at many festivals including Edinburgh, Cheltenham, Bath and the BBC Proms.

The evening will have an informal vibe and will be followed by wine and cake. The event is free of charge, although a donation of £7 (cash) on the door would be welcomed.


Naomi Atherton (French Horn) and Annabelle Lawson (Piano)


  • Franz Strauss: Introduction, Theme and Variations, op.13
  • Volker David Kirchner: Lamento d'Orfeo
  • Luigi Cherubini: Sonata no.2
  • Enrique Granados: Quejas o la maja y el ruisenor (Goyescas Suite)
  • Richard Strauss: Andante
  • Paul Dukas: Villanelle

This event is:

Up Close & Personal

…or show events that are:

…or filter by group type: