Czech National Symphony Orchestra

Nikolai Demidenko & Heiko Mathias Förster
  • Friday 30 November
    7.00 – 9.00pm
Ticket typeCost
18yrs and Under£5.60
Adult (Price Zone A)£23.52
Adult (Price Zone B)£21.28
Adult (Price Zone C)£17.92

Two great Czech signature works from the Czech National Symphony Orchestra

Who better to perform two great Czech signature works than the Czech National Symphony Orchestra? The overture Smetana composed for his comic opera The Bartered Bride simply bursts with exuberance and energy and is the perfect opener for any concert. Nikolai Demidenko, long admired by British audiences, is soloist in Chopin’s Concerto; inspired by a love affair, it is both lyrical and virtuosic.

The orchestra returns to its homeland with Dvorák’s Ninth Symphony, one of the most beloved works in the repertoire. Composed in America, this richly melodic piece absorbed the influence of American folk music but also conveys deep nostalgia for its composer’s homeland.

The Hallé opens our season with Laura van der Heijden and Karl-Heinz Steffens for what is simply the greatest cello concerto of them all, that of Dvorák. Packed with both melodies and virtuosity, when Brahms heard it for the first time he was astonished, wishing he could have written it himself.

After the interval is Brahms’s Fourth Symphony, his greatest achievement in orchestral music. Its finale, a magnificent set of variations, is perhaps the most remarkable part of this most remarkable and moving work. The concert begins with the rousing homecoming of Sibelius's legendary hero, Lemminkäinen’s Return.


Nikolai Demidenko (Piano) and Heiko Mathias Förster (Conductor)


  • Smetana: The Bartered Bride: Overture
  • Chopin: Piano Concerto No. 1
  • Dvorak: Symphony No. 9 'From the New World'Symphony No. 9 'From the New World'

This event is:

Epics Family-friendly

…or show events that are:

…or filter by group type: