Spring Masterworks Concert

Sheffield Chamber Orchestra, Slava Sidorenko & Richard Howarth
Group type: Orchestras
  • Saturday 29 February, 2020
    7.30 – 9.30pm
Ticket typeCost
General Admission£12
Students and Under 18s£6
Friend of the Orchestra£6

Brilliant Beethoven, Sumptuous Brahms and Intriguing Stravinsky

Don’t miss our Spring Masterworks Concert on Saturday 29th February at 7:30 pm in the beautiful surroundings of Firth Hall at Firth Court in the University of Sheffield main campus area.

This sumptuous programme of music includes two monuments in the classical music repertoire. First up is Beethoven’s 8th Symphony, which we are performing as part of “Beethoven 250” — a series of events in 2020 in Sheffield celebrating the 250th anniversary of Beethoven’s birth. His eighth symphony is generally light-hearted — indeed various passages are heard by some listeners to be musical jokes — though it is not lightweight.

The second major work is Brahms’ second piano concerto, a truly stunning work, where we are joined by Pianist Slava Siderenko.

As well as being a finalist in the Busoni International Piano Competition in 2007 and having been awarded the Silver Medal of The Worshipful Company of Musicians in 2008, Slava’s numerous competition successes include: –

  • The Luzenko International Piano Competition in Ukraine
  • The Moray International Piano Competition in Scotland
  • The Yamaha Music Foundation of Europe Scholarship
  • The Jacques Samuel Intercollegiate Piano Competition
  • The Dudley International Piano Competition
  • The Brant International Piano Competition

He made his debut in 2009 at the Wigmore Hall and has subsequently performed with several major orchestras including the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra and the London Symphony Orchestra. Find out more about Slava here

The programme is completed by Stravinksi’s Dumbarton Oaks — a piece which sounds deceptively simple and is easy to enjoy (it being from his neoclassical period) but which is pleasantly complex for those who want to dig a little deeper. It really is a hidden gem.

And to cap it all the programme is being conducted Richard Howarth who we welcome back as out guest conductor.


Sheffield Chamber Orchestra, Slava Sidorenko (Piano) and Richard Howarth (Conductor)


  • Beethoven: Symphony No. 8
  • Stravinsky: Dumbarton Oaks
  • Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 2

This event is:

Epics Popular Classics Undiscovered Gems Beethoven 250

…or show events that are:

…or filter by group type: