Rachmaninov - All Night Vigil

Sheffield Philharmonic Chorus & Darius Battiwalla
Group type: Choruses
  • Saturday 12 March, 2022

Hauntingly beautiful unaccompanied choral work

The All-Night Vigil is an unaccompanied choral composition by Sergei Rachmaninoff which premiered in Moscow 107 years ago. Widely hailed as Rachmaninoff's finest work, it was one of his favourite compositions, composed in less than two weeks by a composer who had stopped attending church services.

Written for a four-part choir, in many parts there is further splitting of voices, with eleven parts in the seventh movement. The fifth movement, Nunc dimittis, requires the low basses to negotiate a descending scale that ends with a low B-flat (the third B-flat below middle C).

The Chorus is thrilled to at last be able to present this great work to a substantial audience at St Mark's Church, Broomhill, following rehearsals that were largely on-line throughout the pandemic, and a socially-distanced presentation at St Mark's to a small audience. This is a rare chance to hear the whole Chorus sing in the more intimate surroundings of a church - an entirely appropriate setting for this aunting, atmospheric and extremely beautiful work.

Tickets will be available on-line in due course.


Sheffield Philharmonic Chorus (Choir) and Darius Battiwalla (Conductor)


  • Sergei Rachmaninov: All Night Vigil

This event is:

Popular Classics Up Close & Personal

…or show events that are:

…or filter by group type: