SCO Masterworks Concert

Sheffield Chamber Orchestra, Laurence Perkins & Naomi Atherton
Group type: Orchestras
  • Saturday 2 March
    7.30 – 9.30pm
Ticket typeCost
Students, Friends of SCO, Under 18s£6

Come along and enjoy our Spring Masterworks concert.

Our Spring Masterworks Concert is an event not to be missed!

We are delighted to welcome our conductor for this concert, Laurence Perkins, who joins us again following his extremely successful debut in this role with the orchestra in last year’s Masterworks concert and
Naomi Atherton, our soloist. Naomi is the Principal Horn of both the Northern Chamber Orchestra and the Manchester Camerata, as well as a member of Ensemble 360.

Naomi is playing Mozart’s instantly recognisable 4th horn concerto and also Glazunov’s beautiful Idyll for Horn and Strings. Originally composed for Horn and Piano in 1926 in the rather unusual key of F# Major this beautiful lyrical piece is rarely performed, so this is a rare opportunity to hear it performed.

We start with the “Ritual Fire Dance” from De Falla’s ballet ‘El Amor Brujo’, which is full of the passion and energy of Andalusian Spain.

Our concert ends in a very different country and style, with Mendelssohn’s wonderful Scottish Symphony, which was initially inspired by the ruins of Holyrood chapel and Mendelssohn’s subsequent visit to the Western Isles.

Come along and join us for what promises to be an amazing evening of music.


Sheffield Chamber Orchestra, Laurence Perkins (Conductor) and Naomi Atherton (Horn)


  • Manuel De Falla: ‘El amor brujo’ (‘Love the Magician’)
  • Mozart: Horn Concerto No. 4 in E flat, K.495
  • Glazunov: Idyll for horn and strings
  • Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 3 in A minor, Op 56 ‘Scottish’

This event is:

Popular Classics

…or show events that are:

…or filter by group type: